Truth and Reality as I know it to be

Recruited

Last Friday, on my way back to my house I noticed an SVU turning down a side street with a wheelchair in the backseat with its windows rolled down. I casually mused as I gave a starting hard push forward down the curb. The SVU stopped midturn. Uh-oh. Here we go again. Some civilian on their way home needing to make me their good deed for the day.. This would make it offer number 17. Maybe more. I was the one people came to in order to feel good about themselves. Depending on the day and the person, and how haggard I was feeling, I accepted. Sometimes for selfish reasons stemmed from laziness, convenience, and/or fatigue. Other times out of gratitude. Most of the times, I just declined. I had never been offered so many rides home from complete strangers until I had moved here.
Instead, the driver idled her SVU and turned on her blinkers. I wanted to actually have a conversation, but I was worried about her getting rear-ended. Which, everyone claimed this state blamed you for someone else rear-ending you.
The slender lady with medium-length, blonde hair leaned over to call out, “Hi. Excuse me, I hope you don’t think I’m some creepy weirdo. I saw you and, I wondered—I well,—I have a wheelchair too, in the back.”
“Yes, I know. I noticed as you were turning. Can I help you?”
“Well, I was wondering if you were interested in any wheelchair sports.”
[ BING-O! This was the jackpot.]
“Actually to tell you the truth, I’ve been trying to find some. but all I could find was some bowling thing. If you know of any let me know. My name’s A. What’s your name?”
P. I used to live in the area, I’m just here visiting. Look, when I lived here, there was a wheelchair basketball team I used to play on. In fact they just had their first practice yesterday. I could have Jenny contact you if you want to join.”

I told her it would be great, it’s been a long time since I’ve played and I’m not too good, but I’m definitely interested. I gave her my phone number, and we awkwardly parted. As I increasingly eyed the traffic on the main street she had just turned off of.

Today I received a call from JR. I asked her all sorts of questions to get details. I’m so excited and nervous about it all. JR said the team sometime plays the U of A. Which I also find intimidating. If the team is good enough to play again U of A., I know I hardly have those kind of mad skillz. The membership is roughly $500 a year. But I guess it’s an incremential thing and many chances throughout to raise the money.

I’m super excited and not sure what to expect when I go tomorrow. JR said she can’t be there but told me who to speak with. We will see.

What thoughts do you have to share?

Tag Cloud

