Truth and Reality as I know it to be

It’s done. Letters were written, papers were signed, software uninstalled, equipment turned in, files deleted, email account removed and 1 scheduled work day which I am relieved from working but still being paid for. They will send me my final check in 3 days. I’ve never worked for an employer that is so speedy with wrapping things up. I guess that’s a good thing. It’s odd at the same time. I’ve always given notice and worked the time up until the date of effect. It was the first time I wasn’t able to give and serve a full 2 week notice.

I tried not to cry as I left work and said goodbye to Lori. She and I were partners in crime. I forgot to get my food from the breakroom, but that’s of no real concern. I survived over a year, and learned some great lessons, maybe too late, maybe the hard way. At least I have my sanity, some self esteem salvaged, and something more to transition to. My employment history is becoming much like my dating life. On the bright side, the majority of the time, each job (aside from 1) I’ve taken has been a better one than the last.

I sent the W-2 for CompUSA from my time there to the background check company, and they said they got the files. Didn’t hear about the drug test, so I’m taking that as good news. I really like that they recognized my assets, went out of their way to offer me something more than what I originally applied for.

I’m excited to hear my mom is really planning on visiting me in May. I can’t wait. I wonder if I could finagle time off at the new company. She doesn’t like to fly. It’s a big deal to have her come visit and take her to all the places, maybe we’ll go do the tourist thing. Like the Grand Canyon.

What thoughts do you have to share?

Tag Cloud

