Truth and Reality as I know it to be

I watched the movie, Coco Before Chanel this weekend. Naturally it’s the Hollywood version of the well known fashion designer, Coco Chanel’s life and developing career. Yes, I know it’s a movie. To make a movie or any media/medium believable… or properly put, for the intended audience to be able to suspend belief in order to enjoy it, nuances should be in place. This movie spanned from the late 1800s until roughly the 1960s.

Setting is France. According to what I know, which isn’t a ton, but a little bit more than average, the French language does not easily adapt the use of slang. I’m pretty sure in the phrases “What’s new?”, “What’s happenin’?, and “How’s it going?” were not in use by anyone and less likely for the French to be using it in formal settings.

While I think it’s funny that on the internet and in tv and movies, the slang phrase of “Drop me a line sometime” is now standard. I also like to point out, I haven’t heard this phrase actually said by many. I don’t take credit for the word “Touché,” however, I did reintroduce it into circulation after reading it in one of the beloved V.C. Andrews books. I also remember having to explain its context to everyone I used it with.

Another thing I’d like to point out is I didn’t think of the phrase on purpose. The phrase “Drop me a line sometime” was used when net-etiquette was still new enough. The phrase was a filler, a transition and closing phrase as a way to say, “hey, I would love to hear from you whenever” without being formal to the point of being stiff or disingenuous, but also carefully worded not to sound like slang which is not acceptable in business writing and making leads in the professional world during the Dot Com boom.

Point is, the phrase was coined 35-40 years after Coco Chanel’s time. If you want to enrapt the audience with a time-period piece, do enough legwork to make the dialog suit the time you’ve chosen for your plot.

Cool beans has infected Arizona. I reintroduced it. One of my older sisters loved to say it when we were kids. She was the only one who I ever heard say it. I’ve also reintroduced the use of ‘d. It’s from Shakespeare. instead of the -ed modifier, it’s ‘d.

What new phrase can I come up with now?

What thoughts do you have to share?

Tag Cloud

