Truth and Reality as I know it to be

Poem: For a Genuine Friend

Over the course of a year…  through the course of reluctance, indifference, and inhibitions I came to know a very talented artistic man. Five years my junior, a fellow scorpio. We are much a like in personality. Plagued with periods of depression, and feeling as though we are not understood by those in this time period, avoidance of people, interest in arts and science, self-driven.

This poem was written with this specific friend in mind. Who used the messenger program at work to communicate with me and who I barely acknowledged. Someone I mistook as a female for a year and only after extending an invitation to my birthday party was I curious enough to want to put a name to a face and started inquiring. I have a special fondness for this person. While I currently deny it is romantic love (yet a part of me wishes and entertains delusions of having the pleasure of becoming better acquainted with him during a  time when we both are single), there is no other word or phrase to use other than: Fondness.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Questioning the will power to forsake you.
To allow you to continue your journey.
Time to walk away for preserve my sanity.

You are too perfect; I am becoming greedy.
Uncharacteristically perplexed by sudden, sensational urges
Jealousy, immaturity, and possessiveness.

Feeling used and bruised, ironically
Self-inflicted, both guilty and manipulated.

You mirror me; I must find the
Courage to set us both free.

Tormented by ugliness,
You bring out the worst.
Consumed with constant thirst.

Our intimacy of the soul morphed into
Resentment and fearful of losing a genuine friend.

A fool eagerly bound a prisoner of fatalistic fantasies.
Befuddled, emotional muddled.

The time is here to take the cue to retire.
Stage Left, before the glory blazes into fire.

-AB 2012.12.12

* * * * * * * * * * *

I haven’t decided on a title yet.

What thoughts do you have to share?

Tag Cloud

